New to DSLRs, Found 2 Great Deals & Cant Decide.. Please Help!

nosoup4you718

Limp Gawd
Hi,

Im new to DSLRs and have been doing alot of reading and price searching and ive decided on a rebel XTI. I know a lot of you are Nikon guys but I've made up my mind :-P

I dont really understand about lenses yet and i've come across two pretty good deals. One with lenses and one with out.

The first one is just the body for 600 shipped and the second is Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi 2 lens Zoom Kit Includes Canon 18-55mm & Canon 75-300mm for 790.

What I need to know is, are those lenses any good? Are they worth the extra $190 or should I just pick up the body and buy a lens? If I should just buy the body and find a lens separately any ideas what lens to get?

Thanks for the help its greatly appreciated. Im really interested in HDR photos if that makes any difference.

Well not being a Cannon user I cannot attest for the lense quality. I personally would go with the 2 lense deal. Even if they are budget lenses then they are good enough to get started with till you have money for more expensive glass. If the 75-300 is image stabilized then you need a tripod for steadier shot. You can hand shoot with it but it is, hit or miss on how it turns out.

Thanks, it doesnt say much about the lenses which is what worries me, so imagine they cant be too great.

Still undecided but leaning towards just picking up the body

First make sure the deal is legit - there is a lot of shady camera shops on the 'net. Other than that, how can you go wrong with two lenses for $200? Each of those you mentioned goes for around $200 at B&H.

BTW, for HDR-type photos you are definetely going to need a decent tripod so make sure you budget for that as well.