New to folding but have some big hardware to toss at it

3one5

Gawd
I am new to folding, just started last night. Right now I have it running on 3 desktops and 1 virtual machine (1 cpu 4 cores Xeon). Right now I am loading up ESXi on a Dell R900 with Dual Xeon E7450 6 core CPUs. I am going to light up a virtual machine on it for folding and need to know what the most efficient OS and install. Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:
Welcome to the team. For a VM your best bet would be ubuntu linux running SMP, probably using the v6.34 client.

as for a guide you cannot go far wrong with Musky's excellent how to:-http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1601608.

It covers all aspects of SMP folding on linux and is straightforward to use. If you do get stuck just post a ? and we'll be right along to help

Edit:- ninja'd by the feather!!

Thanks guys, I created a new VM for Ubuntu but am only able to assign it 8 cores. I think it may be a limitation of ESXi 4 so I am going to load 5.1 quick. I have 64GB of memory in this box but shouldn't have the need for all of it. That is unless 5.1 lifted the memory restriction....

Alright, so how do I determine how well my setup is doing? Here is a screen shot.

folding-12.jpg

There are 2 measures, one is PPD as shown in the screenie - the other is to work out the tpf - tpf being the time per frame or the time it takes to do 1% of your wu. v7 does not always show the correct PPD, however this site does:- http://linuxforge.net/bonuscalc2.php

Choose your project from the drop down list, key in your tpf and hit calculate. that should give you a proper number. Now i'm not sure if anyone has any numbers for a pair of your cpu's so i don't know if its good for those cpu's or not.

Oh and before you get discourged by some of the ppd posted by other team members - just remember that they may be folding on far more hardware containing far more cores folding different projects