Please critique new gaming rig

silentsammy

Limp Gawd
This will be my first system build in probably over 5 years. So I'm a bit out of the loop. I'm going to be building two rigs in the next 2 months, this first one is for a guy I work with.

Here's a few key things to know first:
- I won't be doing any overclocking on this thing. I just want it running nice and stable for him.
- Since it's been a while since I did a build (and even then I'm still a novice) I really want to keep the build simple and thus I want some reliable parts.

So here's what I've got for my proposed build:

Motherboard: ASUS P5N-E SLI $139.99
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 $316.00
Memory: Kingston ValueRAM 2GB DDR2-667 $178.99
Graphics: eVGA GeForce 8800 GTS $399.99
Storage: Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10000rpm $219.99
Audio: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer $69.99
Speakers: Logitech X-540 5.1 $88.99
Power Supply: OCZ GameXStream 600W $129.99
Case: ABS Stealth Black $119.99

I'm especially not so sure about the Mobo I'm picking here (650i)...I was also looking at the 680 boards like the Asus P5W DH but I've heard some of you saying that the 680 chipsets are finicky. I would like a board that's quadcore ready and preferably SLI.

Any comments you guys have would greatly be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!
SS.

Personally, I have an eVGA 680i motherboard and am very happy with it and have no stability problems. Also, you might want to look into getting some DDR2-800 RAM.

yeah id go with faster ram, and maybe 2 seagate 7200.10 16mb hdds instead of the wd

Get some better ram.

Will there be much of a noticeable difference between 667 ram and 800 since I'm not overclocking it? The 800 seems to be a lot more expensive.

EDIT: Ok its not much more expensive for 800 so I definately will get better Ram. Do these G.Skill sticks look ok?

Not really feeling the case, but thats just a personal preference

Totally agree :) But its the one he likes and most people who have it say its ok to work with.