PLSQL Help - using loop values in a new query

Kaos

[H]ard|Gawd
I'm trying to do the following:

• select all of the users on the system
  • loop over that list of users and see if a certain table exists
  • if it does print out the username

Pertinent Info - using Oracle11g, accessing via "All Around Automations PL/SQL Developer" right now, but later intending to use PHP to pull the data.

Here's how I'm trying right now
Code:
DECLARE
  cnt NUMBER;
BEGIN
  FOR myusers in ( select username from all_users ) 
    LOOP
     SELECT COUNT(*) INTO cnt from myusers.username.table_name; 
     IF ( cnt > 0 )THEN 
         dbms_output.put_line(myusers.username);
     END IF;
   END LOOP;
END;
/

The part I'm having trouble with is either A) my approach is wrong, or B) I can't use "myusers.username.table_name" - most likely because it doesn't exist, or at least it doesn't exist like I'm trying to use it.

My background is mostly in shell scripting and php so some of the PLSQL conventions are just a little different than what I'm used to. Do I perhaps need another variable declaration to hold the value of the username?

Thanks!

I suspect you can accomplish this with an INNER JOIN statement, but....

What exact condition(s) mean that a matching table is found for a specific user? (Please give column and table names, if possible.)

You're writing too much code in SQL, why not write a script to grab the data, then parse it how you want it. And as PTNL said above, a join will probably format it how you want it before its given back to your script.

the existence of the table itself is enough - the table is "system_properties" - however there are any other number of unique tables that it could be.

so lets say I have a few schemas: "ninja", "pirate", and "cyborg"

If ninja.system_properties exist I want to print "ninja"
if pirate.system_properties exists I don't want to print pirate
etc

Please let me know if I can provide any more info, thanks for the help too!

-