Quad core Winter break upgrade (Would love advice!)

ivandurago

[H]ard|Gawd
Starting on Black Friday and continuing till a week or two after New Years I will looking for used parts/great deals for a build I will complete before Spring semester. I would love to hop on the i7 bandwagon, but being a poor college student I am relying on xmas/bday money and cash from parting out my current system (Who knows, maybe Santa will be incredibly kind this year :p .) I am hoping to pick up parts primarily our Sale/Trade board from people parting out for i7. I want to build a quad core system with a single graphics card solution possibly on a x38/48 board for possible xfire later in the future, and would like to pick up 8gbs of DDR2/3 depending on cpu/mobo.

I am keeping my Lian Li v1000b, DVD drive, and HDD's and will need to purchase, along with the items listed above, a new power supply unit and audio system. I am building this system primarily for gaming on a 22” and 20.1” lcds, hopefully later in 2009 I will sell the Dell 20.1” and get a 24”. I also will use it for graphic design work, and general art/school issues. I like to have as many applications as I can running at once to make multi tasking, 3360x1050 makes it even easier :D I rip/dl all my audio at 320 kbps+ so I would really like to get a 5.1 audio system and sound card that makes it worth it!