recommend in-pc backup drive - quiet, still fast, good warranty

Deusfaux

Gawd
main drive is a velociraptor, os drive soon an intel ssd.

this would be a backup drive to purely store doubles of things found on the velociraptor. manual backups done with synctoy.

I'm not too good with HDDs but I think the caviar greens are pretty good. While they aren't the fastest they run cool and are pretty cheap when on sale. Comes with a 3 year warranty too.

To be a worth while backup drive you really don't want it to be in pc. A virus, power surge, etc could take it out with the main drive. Same with a controller failing on the motherboard if both drives are running off the same one.

I'd get an external drive from seagate/wd/etc and use it. Unhook it and keep it away from the pc when not in use.

To be a worth while backup drive you really don't want it to be in pc. A virus, power surge, etc could take it out with the main drive. Same with a controller failing on the motherboard if both drives are running off the same one.

I'd get an external drive from seagate/wd/etc and use it. Unhook it and keep it away from the pc when not in use.

I've been in the electronics service industry for 23 years, and that is some good advice. The only thing I would like to add is to have AT LEAST 2 backups of important stuff like your photos or home movies, or mission critical data if this system is used for work related stuff. That is one conversation you DO NOT want to have with The Other. ;)

Don

I figured I didn't have to explain my entire backup system to get an answer to my specific question, but for the record, I have 2 externals already (in 2 different cities across canada) in addition to the current internal backup.

I figured I didn't have to explain my entire backup system to get an answer to my specific question, but for the record, I have 2 externals already (in 2 different cities across canada) in addition to the current internal backup.