side window more noise?

decap

Limp Gawd
can anyone confirm this? i want to keep it quietbut im thinking abou getting a case with the window . wondering if this will affect noise levels. thanks

well im no expert, but let's say your case uses an aluminum side door. If you were to replace it with something that is mostly plastic, i'm pretty sure it wouldn't dampen the noise as well, not sure to what extent however.

I havent noticed any difference I have two comps, one with a window and one w/o and I actually think the one with the window is quieter.

The computers are a

-Dell XPS 400 (dual core)
-One I built (AMD 4200+ dual core)

It probably makes very little difference at all, and it all depends on the system's cooling and stuff.

It will. Plexiglass AKA PLASTIC is less condensed and lighter than aluminum/steel. So therefore, it will slightly make more noise than a NON-WINDOW case.

GNOMEX said:
It will. Plexiglass AKA PLASTIC is less condensed and lighter than aluminum/steel. So therefore, it will slightly make more noise than a NON-WINDOW case.
False
While they do make a very slight difference in noise this is not the reason. Density is not why sound travels more easily through plastic than through steel. Actually sound travels better through more dense objects than through the air or liquids. In a well modded window there usually is no difference in sound. What happens often is that a window that makes people think they are louder is the window is not properly installed and sealed so it can vibrate inside of the side panel which is what is making it sound louder. At worse the difference is so small that you can barely notice it if at all like a few dbs. Most of the added sound you hear is from vibrations and spots that are not sealed air tight so sound can travel at those points very easily. The plexiglass can also be louder if it is rough because rougher materials absorb more of the sound waves while smooth materials tend to reflect more.