Sort of confused

talley

Limp Gawd
I'm very new to htpc systems and I have some questions(obviously). I'm planning to use an old 1.6 p4 with 1gb of rdram for a htpc. The video card it has is a Asus V8460 Ultra Deluxe which is based on the Geforce 4. I would like to know if I can use the dvi on the card to connect it to this television at a HD resolution it supports. Suggestions for other tvs that are $500 roughly are welcome. Audio is already taken care of and a tv tuner isn't needed in this case. I'm a little concerned about the computer being underpowered for HD video. I do not really know what software I need for this, so any information is welcome.

Thank you for any information.

You should be able to. I am using a DVI-I to component input from my Radeon 9250 to a new Philips 27" Flat Screen and it's working fine. With that particular TV you'll need a DVI-I to HDMI cable or DVI-I to component adapter (monoprice.com sells them for $18 shipped) to be able to connect it since it doesn't look like that TV has DVI input.

mETRo thanks for the reply.

Would this cable work? Also, the soundcard I am planning to use is an old audigy platinum. I'm planning to hook it up to a Onkyo HT-770 home theater system(connection info here and manual here) The Audigy cards have always acted a little weird for me, what would be the best way for me to connect the computer up to the stereo for the audio? The computer will be used for dvd's, videos, and gaming. Also, there will be a PS2, Xbox, Gamecube hooked up to the tv, any idea how those work with HD? I am also looking for a good remote that is not very expensive, just needs basic functionality.