Space games/simulations

thekipper

Limp Gawd
Hi,
Any recommendations for something similar to Wing Commander/Privateer/X-Wing vsTie-Fighter/Freelancer?

Also, how is Sins of a Solar Empire/Galactic Civilations 2?

Was perusing those during the steam sale but didn't commit.

Thanks!

Freelancer: Discovery Mod :)
We run a server if you need somewhere to play it.

Sins of a Solar Empire - Excellent, definitely get it.

Well if you are willing to wait. . .Star Citizen.

I enjoyed Sins of a Solar Empire but it isn't in the same class as the Homeworld series or Freelancer.

If you are going from Freelancer and X-Wing vs. Tie Fighter to X-3, be careful, X-3 has a learning curve. Also, I was a Freelancer fanatic and didn't really like X-3. May give it another try at some point, but I dunno. They are quite different space games.

As for Sins of a Solar Empire, it's a space RTS. But it is a blast to play.

The X series is probably the best thing (short of the upcoming Star Citizen). Big learning curve though, but there are threads here for more info.

There aren't too many games in this genre these days. Give Freelancer (as recommended) a try. There are some others (Darkstar, Evochron Mercenaries, etc) that you can try. Other threads on the forums here will contain other suggestions. Personally, none of these games lived up to my expectations.

i know its not what you are looking for but Kerbal Space Program is good and

for the hardcore check out Orbiter 2006 (lol looks like its called 2010 now, been a while).

http://orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk/

i really spent quite a bit of time in Orbiter and it was a great simulator, know its hard core simulator though.. there are some great tutorials and the first time you actually get into orbit and then perform a burn to orbit the moon or mars, you'll be hooked for a while :)

I absolutely love the open-world type space sims.
- Sundog: Frozen Legacy started it all for me.
- Privateer came along and that kicked so much ass.