SR-2 and gaming?

Weenis

I said WEENIS, not...
So.. I'm going to be the one to go out there and just ask it.. I know I'll catch heat because it wouldn't be a 24/7 dedicated folding box..

But say if I built an SR-2.. I am curious how well the Xeons do for gaming. I have little experience with them (just getting 5650s at work on some boxes I have control over) and wanted to know if I built an SR-2 box with server CPUs if it would game well?

I'd feel really guilty building a machine with such power and not utilizing it for gaming when I feel the urge :)

well, a i7 920 does a pretty damn good job already, and is equivalent to a W3520(I believe)

You'd be bottlenecked at the GPUs(3xGTX480s should take care of that :) )

It's efectively the same thing as an i7 at whatever speed you OC too, just however many more cores you have lol

You won't see the gains until you go multi GPU tho cuz that's the bottle neck of games these days. Most games don't even tap the potenial of a quad i7, let alone a hex. You get 8-12 cores and you're only gonna have spare CPU cycles while gaming. The special part of the SR2 is the ability to quad SLI cards, but honestly I'd just settle with dual 470's and call it a day unless your pushing like 3 30' monitors. Then don't forget the huge case

SR2 was designed for 2 reasons. Primary was as a test bench only system built to set "Super Records" (hence SR)
secondary was the extreme high end enthusiast/cheap ass workstation user who needed multiple CPU cores and could save money by ovrrclocking xeons

xeons get real pricey when you get to just 2.9 ghz and above, but get yourself a pair of the cheapest ones on the block and OC to 3.8ghz or higher and you've got a workstation fasterthan any other dual nehalem or westy (it is westy right?) system available from anyone else for thousands less, and cheaper ram too
Posted via [H] Mobile Device

If it is for folding and gameing go for it.