Vcore in BIOS vs CPU-Z

aethelwulf

[H]ard|Gawd
Ok, so I know that BIOS set Vcore and what you're going to see in CPU-Z, Speedfan, etc. won't match up. However, I feel that I'm getting some pretty massive differences and I don't know if this is normal or not. This is my first time overclocking. Currently running:

Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz (356x9) Vcore 1.3375V (BIOS) 1.224V (CPU-Z idle) 1.216V (CPU-Z load)

So am I crazy?

also, since no one is answering... Which is more reliable? BIOS settings or CPU-Z? How do I know how much juice is actually getting to the cpu?

I actually notice the same thing with my P5K-E. I'm set at 1.5375v in BIOS but Everest shows 1.43v idle 1.42v load @ 3.2GHz

I would go by bios, but watch temps. I can do 3.2 on stock volts. 1.2

My VID is 1.225 though...

Settings in sig.

I went back to 3.0, because I didn't like ocing my ram.

CPU-Z has been known to report incorrect voltages with some C2Ds, and sometimes it will always report stock voltage even if you changed it. See if there's a utility provided by your motherboard manufacturer to check the voltage and try using that instead. If there is one, it should report more accurately.

Its pretty normal for hte actual voltage to be lower than the BIOS set voltage. If the difference isn't huge, I'd go with CPU-Z or some other voltage sensing software over the BIOS setting. I've seen threads, maybe over on xtremesystems, where guys have checked with a multimeter and the CPU-Z voltage was correct.

It's true that there's always a certain amount of Vdroop, however it is a known problem that sometimes CPU-Z will not display the voltage properly on C2D or C2Q systems.

Here's a thread @ overclock.net re: P5K-E and a pencil mod. Try googling "P5K-E vdroop" and maybe "mod" for some more ideas.