what did you take to college?

Corson

Limp Gawd
im about to head off to college in the fall, and im trying to decide whether i should take my desktop, and get a decent laptop for basic computing, so basically just use my desktop for gaming and mot worry about it for the laptop, or should i get a laptop good enough for gaming and leave my desktop back home.

im going to Temple Univ. in Philadelphia, and they have something like 75% wireless campus which means ill probably be using a laptop pretty often away from my room, but who knows. My major is IST so ill be using a computer more often than some students.

btw my desktop is currently:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton (oced to around 2205 mhz)
CORSAIR XMS 512MB (2 x 256MB)
ABIT NF7-S
SAMSUNG 955DF Monitor
Saphire 9500pro

if i take the desktop, im planning on upgrading the video card to a 6800gt, which ill do soon if i decide what laptop ill be taking. also, i may get an LCD monitor if i end up not having room assuming i take the desktop.

thanks for the help

take the desktop, and get a decent light laptop that will be easy to take with you places...something in the range of 13-14" wide screen that is 5 lbs or less...like the sony's or the ASUS W3V...they'll handle light gaming but are very portable yet will handle whatever you need them to. If you don't take the desktop you'll need a DTR notebook which you won't want to carry many places cause its so damned heavy and bulky

Gaming desktop + ultra-portable laptop. I took this to the extreme, though, and got a PDA for notetaking two years ago- don't go that far, the screen is too small! I've found that my Latitude D505 is perfect for notes- 15" screen (you don't need widescreen to type!), Cel-M 1.5, 802.11g, and I think about six lbs- I've gotten over 6 hours out of it!

Actually, I did have a gaming laptop two years ago- an eMachines m6809. It was great, but it walked away. Don't get anything expensive for a laptop.