When to upgrade?

Soyo13

Gawd
I've been using my XFX HD 7970 DD since Dec 2012 with a 40" 1080p HDTV until few months ago I replaced that TV with 3x 27" @ 5840x1080. And since then I've been annoyed with several things.

Crossfire/SLI is annoying
Lack of solid support for mufti screen gaming from many games.
Low FPS with single video card.

Primary game I play right now is WoW, I'm getting 30 fps outdoor with High settings. I would like to get 60 FPS+ on High at least.

I don't want to spend a lot on a graphic card or crossfire/SLI that will be replaced eventually. So I'm searching for a single card solution that can give me large FPS gain.

Gaining ~15 FPS or so is not worth $500+ purchase to me. Are those AMD 290's or nVidia GTX 980 what I seek or should I wait for the next generation or so?

Wow, my FPS on high settings at 3k is nowhere that close on that article chart on ultra settings...

Hmm I should give 290x a shot, if I don't like it... I'll just eat the restocking fee.

Thanks Nuby.

Couple questions for ya...

What is your GPU usage while you are getting 30fps (while playing WoW), is it pegged at 95%-100% or is it bouncing around at 60%-70% (or even lower)? Is your gpu hitting it's full boost while you are getting these low frames?

Same thing on the CPU side... Is the CPU usage pegged at 95%-100%? And is it staying pegged at 4.6Ghz when you are getting 30fps?