WHS+small SSD

Jordan1

[H]ard|Gawd
I attempted to install WHS on a 64GB SSD. All was going well until I get the message about needing a drive at least 65GB in size. So I installed it on another larger, spare drive. But, I really want to use this SSD for my WHS. Would there be anything preventing me from imaging my current installation and transferring it to my SSD to use?

I don't know if there's any WHS-specific limitations, I'm no expert on that, tho I've read a few posts about problems transferring stuff to the server when the OS drive is choked for space (both on the server and on the client system). As far as imaging an OS unto an SSD in general tho, you might wanna take a look at this thread as there's a few things to take into consideration. It's certainly possible, but you wanna make damn sure you do it right and not all closning/imaging apps will handle the process as they should.

from my understanding, WHS works differently from a normal OS.
its best to install the OS on a big drive, b/c when new data comes in its parsed on the OS drive until it gets shuffled off onto another drive for storage. the smaller the OS drive, the longer it takes to transfer new data.

from my understanding, WHS works differently from a normal OS.
its best to install the OS on a big drive, b/c when new data comes in its parsed on the OS drive until it gets shuffled off onto another drive for storage. the smaller the OS drive, the longer it takes to transfer new data.