Why an expensive MoBo?

okashira

[H]ard|Gawd
I DON'T mean for this thread to be flamebait. I have been building PC's for 15 years and just want to share my recent experiences and thoughts... and get yours

Summer 2008
Built a PC with ASUS Rampage Formula. First of the ROG motherboards. Q9450 did 3.6-3.8 GHz in it. It was super shiny and super expensive. I was happy. Ran a 280 GTX.

Winter 2010
Built a PC with Gigabyte P55A-UD3. Around $140 for the mobo. i5-760 did 4.0GHz, RAM 1600 @ CAS 7-7-7-XX. Fairly stable but wouldnt come out of standby when overclocked (I hated this quite alot) Also didnt run any of the CPU power saving features so it sucked down much more power then nessisary. Ran AMD 6950.

Recent (~2 week ago)
Built a PC with i5-2500K and ASUS P8Z68-V LX. Cheapest of ASUS Z68 boards (was $55 at MC) Patriot memory 8GB @ 1866MHz CAS 9-10-9-XX
Runs super stable (P95 1344 and 1744 FFT 24 hour and LinX AVX 24 hr) at 4.6 GHz 1.26V under load CPUz on a cheap Xigmatech S-1283 DN (great cooler). Speedstep and all CPU features enabled and work perfect (except disabled Turbo boost 'cause it seems pointless to add on something when speedstep does what I need it to.) Standby works. Runs a AMD 6970.

So I spent 1/6 what I did on my ASUS ROG motherboard in 2008 and I am just as happy with it, if not more so. Relativly, the OC on this setup may be even better.

The only things I feel like are lost are:
1. a couple less SATA ports
2. a couple less speed controllable fan headers. (but I can just plug fans into molex connectors and wire in my own resistor.) I run 6x 120mm fans.
3. CF/SLI support? Don't care about this. I will always just sell and upgrade to a faster single chip video card.
4. ???
5. Profit! (could't resist)

Thoughts...

Cheaper motherboards tend to have:
2. a couple less speed controllable fan headers
3. poor CF/SLI support