Will a 5770 be enough for me?

khanable

[H]F Junkie
Hi guys,

I game at 1920x1080 and am currently using a 9800gt 512mb. The card has been great in the past but it struggles to hold 30fps+ in more modern titles such as ME2, dead space, DA:O, etc. I should note that these games are essentially ran at max settings. I could turn down the pretty effects, but that just seems silly to me! :p

I am considering an upgrade to a 5770 1gb.

I am no expert and don't usually browse/compare video card data, but I imagine that since the 9800gt has a higher memory bus than the 5770 that the difference between the two at 1920x1080 wouldn't exactly be mind blowing. Is this accurate?

So I ask the slew of experts here: is it worthwhile to move from a 9800gt to a 5770?

Should I hold off and save up some coin for a 5830?

I don't really have a 'budget', but I know I want something that is relatively cheap with decent performance - I will not be gaming much in the fall due to school.

Appreciate it~

System is a x4 965 w/ 4gb 1600 if that matters.

No a 5770 is far better than a 9800. Its about the equivalant of a 260.

IMO, you should just go for a 5850.

No a 5770 is far better than a 9800. Its about the equivalant of a 260.

IMO, you should just go for a 5850.

I don't think I can muster up the courage to drop the funds on a 5850. I do, after all, only game for maybe 2-3 hours a week while school is going on.

This summer I will of course be gaming as a second full time job.. but since it is this summer only I cannot really justify going high end :)

Thanks for the input though.. going to look up reviews on the 260/5770 in relation to a 9800gt

I don't think I can muster up the courage to drop the funds on a 5850. I do, after all, only game for maybe 2-3 hours a week while school is going on.

This summer I will of course be gaming as a second full time job.. but since it is this summer only I cannot really justify going high end :)