Win7 GPU F@H client; laggy video and flickering

Elledan

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2010
Hi guys, as you may already know, I have been running Win7 for a few weeks now and have been generally happy with it aside from some initial minor issues. On this system I'm folding using the F@H GPU client (GTX275). PPD is normal.

What I find annoying is that when I try to play videos (flash, MPC (various formats)), it starts lagging with faster scenes, and switching to/from full-screen is slow. Earlier today I also had random rapid flickering of both screens (dual setup) while playing a video.

I was wondering whether any of you with a similar setup have encountered anything like this, and what you may have done about it.

I've never had any trouble with screen flickering that I can recall. I have no clue what would cause that or how to fix it.

The slow performance when watching movies and such I have a lot of experience with. It took me a while to finally get something setup that didn't do that and it took a lot of trial and error on my part. I use Media Player Classic Home Cinema for movie and video playback. Since there are bugs and such with the 64 bit version of the player, I use the 32 bit version. Along with that I install FFDshow Tryouts (32 bit version). Once that is installed I go to the options in MPC-HC and change the "Output" to "Old Renderer". Once that is done, I go to the "Internal Filters" part of the options and from the Transform Filters listing I uncheck just about any of the codecs I might be using through MPC-HC. Some of these include AC3, DTS, LPCM, MPEG Audio, FLAC, H264 (DXVA), H264 (FFmpeg), VC1 (DXVA), VC1 (FFmpeg), Xvid/MPEG-4, Divx and MS MPEG-4. Once that is done FFDshow Tryouts should take over the duties of processing those codecs instead of MPC-HC or the built in codecs in Windows.