Workunits stopping?

CaptRingold

Limp Gawd
I'm new to this, only recently switched over from BOINC projects, but it looks like every other workunit on both computers I have this running on at the moment (three clients total, one is a dual proc) leaves either a "Gromacs could not continue any further" sort of message or something about potential system instability. Appears to save what has been done up to then, sends it in (partial credit?), loads up another WU and starts over.

Is this.. normal? No OC on either system, but they're both not exactly brand-spankin' new.

No... it's not normal... very rarely should a WU end early... I usually go months without having an early end unit... and then I may get one or two in a weeks time... but not every other WU I get.....

In my experience, F@H taxes the system more than just about anything else... I used to used Seti, and when I first switched to F@H, my PC couldn't handle it (because my HSF was clogged with dust).... After I dusted it out, everything worked fine...

Is it prime stable? memtest?

BTW... Welcome to the [H]orde!!

Keep on Folding!!

Coincidently I just got an EUE pn a BIG unit this week.
What flags are you running? What unit was it?

I concur, I recently moved my boxen from SETI to F@H (GO [H]ORDE!!! ) and folding is much harder on my cpus and memory than SETI ever was. frex, my [email protected] flew thru most seti units in 4:30 to 5 hours, the fastest it has ever processed any F@H unit is about 18 hours. I have a gig of ram, but all I get is tinkers and gromacs (I just enabled advmethods though, that should change soon) BTW, I'm stress testing my sisters celeron 2.7 w/256meg, it takes about 44 hours to process what my a64 does in 36-38, at least based on the only unit it will get to do, a 1130 tinker. Too bad she doesn't even have dial-up :(

one ? would be which version of F@H are you using?

There has been a few people who have lots of problems
with graphical not finishing units, or crapping out..