Yet Another 'rate my rig upgrade' thread.

Satyrist

Gawd
I am looking at making the leap to C2D sometime in the future, and I was looking for some feedback:

I am looking to push 3ghz on air, hopefully without a voltage increase. Some items will be kept from my current rig if they will be able to handle the upgrade. It'll be used for all sorts of functions, Photoshop and gaming being two of the main things.

Mobo: I wasn't sure what would do the job well, there are several choices it seems. The P5B series, Abit A9WD-Max, the Gigabyte DS3, or Intel BadAxe2 look like good choices. I'm completely a noob here as to what'll work for my goal here. SLI isn't something that I consider necessary (more work/money, for not necessarily that big a gain if I remember things right)

CPU: Intel E6600, or E4300...Is there a great deal of difference between the two as far as OC ability?

GPU: Currently, I'm using a HIS Radeon X1900XT card. It ought to do well with everything non-DX10 compliant.

HDD: Seagate 160gb, Seagate 320gb. These are both of the drives I'm also currently using, both SATA.

DVD: NEC 3540 series. Using this currently as well.

RAM: 2 GB. I have been looking at the Buffalo series of Firestix DDR2 800. Good? Or what else would work as well?

PSU: Enermax Liberty 500W. I'm guessing I may need an upgrade here, I've a couple of ideas here, be it a PCP&C model, or one of the newer Silverstone models.

Heatsink: Will likely be a Tuniq Tower series.

Case: Antec 900 ATX. I know of the wiring hassles, I'll put up with them.

Other things:

Santa Cruz PCI audio.
Intel 10/100/1000 PCI NIC.
20x4 Parallel VFD.

Knowing that PCI slots are at something of a premium on the newer C2D boards, (esp if going SLI, which I'm not deadset on) will I do just as well using the onboard NIC/Audio on most of the newer boards? I am rather loathe to put anything Creative in any of my builds, BTW.

Not exactly a set budget on this, I'm guessing that it'll take a minimum of $1K for the upgrade.