Asus A8N-E and Nvidia nforce chipset driver install?

Equalizer

Limp Gawd
I'm new to the amd scene so please forgive my ignorance.

I just purchased the A8N-E and the nforce 4 ultra drivers that came on the cd are old. Can I use the drivers from Nvidia's website instead of the ones from Asus?

Yes. In fact that's usually the best course of action. Drivers delivered with retail product are almost always out of date.

Thanks for the help. I installed the nvidia drivers from their site and all went well.

The only issue now is it displays the chipset as nforce 4 and not nforce 4 ultra. Is this correct even though the board has an nforce 4 ultra chipset? I used cpuz and the device manager to come to this conclusion.

CompuDrew - maybe you can answer this question. I installed the xtasy x850xtpe in my machine and loaded the ati 5.6 drivers. Now the overdrive and smartgart tabs are missing out of my advanced menu. It also list the card as an x850 series card and not x850xtpe card in the device manager. Are you getting the same thing with your x850xt card?

thanks

Equalizer said:
Thanks for the help. I installed the nvidia drivers from their site and all went well.

The only issue now is it displays the chipset as nforce 4 and not nforce 4 ultra. Is this correct even though the board has an nforce 4 ultra chipset? I used cpuz and the device manager to come to this conclusion.

CompuDrew - maybe you can answer this question. I installed the xtasy x850xtpe in my machine and loaded the ati 5.6 drivers. Now the overdrive and smartgart tabs are missing out of my advanced menu. It also list the card as an x850 series card and not x850xtpe card in the device manager. Are you getting the same thing with your x850xt card?

thanks

Different driver revisions may call the chipset something slightly different. I wouldn't worry about that too much.