Best bang for buck card for 3d modeling work

WiLLiSTER

2[H]4U
My buddy is looking to put a new rig together. I've got most of the build list done, but when it comes to 3d modeling apps, I'm no expert. He uses both 3DS Max and Maya at a whopping 1280x1024 (17"). As of now the build is leaving around 150ish for the graphics card, but we could shift stuff around and go a little higher if it's really needed.

do either or both programs support cuda?

if they do.. my best suggestion for 150 bucks would be the GTS 250.. if they dont support cuda then get the absolute cheapest card you can find..

oh and tell your friend to get a bigger monitor if hes doing 3D modeling.. i'd shoot myself if i tried doing 3D modeling on a 17" display.. lol but each to their own i guess..

do either or both programs support cuda?

if they do.. my best suggestion for 150 bucks would be the GTS 250.. if they dont support cuda then get the absolute cheapest card you can find..

oh and tell your friend to get a bigger monitor if hes doing 3D modeling.. i'd shoot myself if i tried doing 3D modeling on a 17" display.. lol but each to their own i guess..

Well, that's the thing. I really have no idea if either do and when I asked him he had no idea what cuda was (nor stream for that matter). I did my own research and it seems like certain plugins do and some don't support it, but it's all a little over my head considering I don't use these programs.

As for the monitor, it'll come eventually. He's more worried about getting the 4 year old rig updated first :p

Cpu and memory are what's needed for 3d modelling. Rather than upgrade, i'd suggest he build a new system with a core i7 and 6gb ram as a render node and keep his existing system for editing. He can hook both systems together and use network rendering, a much better setup than upgrading.

That is of course if your friend can handle building a new system without selling his/her existing hardware