Can't even get to 1600fsb, what's holding me back?

neubspeed

Gawd
I've run my voltage up to 1.25v, I've loosened my timings to 5-5-5-15 although my ram is rated for 800 anyways, and I stuck on a Scythe Ninja Mini.

I'm running an E8400 on an Asus P5K-E Wifi. I just want it at 3.6ghz and it doesn't seem likely.

So its either:

A) My incompetence in overclocking
B) My power supply is insufficient
C) My cooling is insufficient
D) There's a problem with my RAM (2x2GB OCZ Reaper - DDR2-800 4-4-4-15)

Help would be greatly appreciated, I'm new to all this. Someone told me my 9800GX2 might be sucking all the power I need for an overclock as well.

A) My incompetence in overclocking
-This is the right place to learn. Also read the stickies for overclocking C2Ds

B) My power supply is insufficient
-What PSU do you have?

C) My cooling is insufficient
-Current temps?

D) There's a problem with my RAM (2x2GB OCZ Reaper - DDR2-800 4-4-4-15)
-Its definitely not this. Make sure you set the BIOS to run the RAM at 800MHz

More information on your setup would help. Also what is the highest overclock you have gotten so far?

Make sure the PCI-E bus speed is set to 100MHz so it doesnt clock up with the FSB.

I think you have to set your memory to run at 667, not 800. That way, after raising the fsb to 400, your mem will run exactly at 800 MHz. I don't know how much your memory will overclock, so this will make determining your weak link easier.

Hey, thanks for the quick replies guys.

My power supply is a Corsair HX620W.

I always make sure to look the PCIe bus to 100mhz.

As of right now, my temperatures are about 30-35 degrees normally and get to about 39 degrees playing Crysis.

I haven't been able to get past much so far. I think I've got it up to about 350mhz without a problem or crash.

Hey, thanks for the quick replies guys.

My power supply is a Corsair HX620W.

I always make sure to look the PCIe bus to 100mhz.