DAC recommendations

Silent.Sin

Gawd
I've been reading through various posts here and on head-fi looking for something new to feed my newborn interest in audio. I started by buying a pair of SR-80s and love them, but after about a year of use I want something of higher quality to accompany them than my NF7-S v2.0 output. First I looked at amps since they seemed to be the cheapest next step forward. Then I got to thinking I should resolve my source problem before going for an amp. I figure the only reason for buying a higher end sound card is for a better DAC on it, so why not just keep the soundstorm and get a standalone DAC?

The problem is I can't seem to find much info or user feedback about DACs. I'm a poor college student so my budget isn't too high (max of $150 probably) and what I have found seem to average a lot higher than my budget will permit. Is there a decent sounding DAC in this price range or am I pretty much SOL? The DAC needs to have optical input as my NF7-S doesn't have coax. Any suggestions?

I've never heard an outboard DAC. A modified ART DI/O is supposed to be pretty good. Google for it and you'll know just about as much as I do.

If your budget is only 150$ forget about a dac.
A GOOD one will set you back at least 300$... unless you have the skill (and time) to transform this------>
http://www.zzounds.com/item--ARTDIO
Into this---->
before.JPG

And then back into this----->
DIO.JPG

You might want to forgo the DAC and buy a real sound card. ;)

is there a real noticible diff between analog and digital sound?