My uncle grabbed my card - could static have damaged it?

Le037

Limp Gawd
Today I showed my uncle my new GTX 295. Ain't gonna be able to try it till saturday. I've always been careful with static before touching my cards but I didn't realize to tell my uncle to discharge somewhere before looking at it. So know I'm wondering if it's probable that the card's been damaged it (I haven't tried it yet, maybe it works). I've seen videos on the net where people unbox their cards and handle them with their bare hands but I have no experience with this. Maybe I'm just being paranoid?

I've left a motherboard on a really high pile carpet for about 8 months, it was vaccumed around, walked around picked up, etc.

Boots fine :)

There's enough conductive surface on a gpu that, unless you had sufficient static build up, and contacted the core directly, you're more than likely safe.

you should be fine, although i am paranoid too, always ground my self..... but once when i took out my intel motherboard(before i got a p5q pro a few months ago) i touched it with my bare hands put on carpet etc and still works! But then there is a slight chance.. but mostlikely it will work, good luck!!.. wish i could afford an gtx 295 :(

In my experience, components are usually only damaged if you noticed a shock when touching the part. If you or he didn't notice one, you should be fine. Either way, just plug it in and find out. It shouldn't hurt your mobo or other parts.

Thanks a lot! Yeah I'm most likely being paranoid but being that if it breaks I'm stuck with my Radeon 9600 I think you guys understand me ;)

You're fine. I work in an ESD controlled environment @ werk and have experience so I'd say unless your uncle was shuffling around on the carpet and touching the conductive surfaces on your card (most important of which are enclosed on new cards) it wouldn't damage it at all. Now tell your uncle to quit it. :D