mysql problem

Fark_Maniac

2[H]4U
I'm just starting out with mysql and PHP. I've bought books to step me through things and I've had c++ up through data structures, so I'm pretty confident in my php coding.

I'm running into problems with my MySQL server. I've installed it on my home workstation, which is behind a router...but I don't think that's my problem as I've opened up port 3306. I've gotten EngInSite mysql client to interact with the server as 'root' and as 'dataop' (user I wish to interact with mysql via php), but only on localhost. I have an offsite server that I've installed the client on to and 'root' may login, given the correct IP, but all other users throw an error: "Access denied".

when I try to have my php code connect at to the mysql server, anything after the mysql_connect() function is simply not parsed...like it was never there.
This is my code:
Code:
<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<body>
<?php
	$string = "Fugly <br>";
	$user = "dataop";
	$pass = "forumedited";
	echo "Dude, where's my car?<br>";
	echo $string;
	$conn = mysql_connect("localhost",$user,$pass);
	echo "Hey, it works";
	?>
</body>
</html>
This is what I get:
Code:
<html>
<head>
</head>

<body>
Dude, where's my car?<br>Fugly <br>
I had echo's after the connect, but it never happens.

So with my attempts with the client logons and the webpage parsing, I can only assume that my server is denying the specified user access...but I don't know where to look.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, whether web pages or setting suggestions. Believe me...I've googled! :eek:

EDIT: I've changed the proposed code to reflect the current file being tested and fixed typos. the file in question has my IP specified and does not use "localhost"