SQL - how does one learn it

Bambi

I Cleaned My Room - And I am a Dude
So going back to the thread title, does one need to sign up for a course or can one learn it just by reading books?

I would suggest the book Head First SQL. Head First Labs wrote the best book I have ever read on learning C#, so I'd bet this one would be just as good.

As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
It depends what you consider "learning" SQL. You could just go to W3Schools and learn the very basics (select, insert, update, delete). As you get more advanced, you'll learn how to use joins, views, temp tables, stored procedures, functions, permission controls, etc etc.

I think that anyone learning SQL should also have a bit of a primer on how relational databases work. When it comes time to use join statements, you'll be glad you have a good grasp of it.

Well i do understand relational databases but my MIS program which i graduated from did not cover SQL much, so now i want to learn it while i am unemployed.

In what capacity do you want to use SQL? Do you want to do the occasional reporting? Design and develop apps? Become a DBA?

So going back to the thread title, does one need to sign up for a course or can one learn it just by reading books?
Either works.

More in terms of reporting.
Start off with the previous to learn the fundamentals of SELECT, WHERE, and JOIN's. Then when you feel comfortable with this and on a sample database, then try it out using a small subset of data on your own database and build on it as you need. To shorten your learning curve, get some guidebooks that are focused on the same database vendor as your company's or business's database. (SQL Server, Oracle, MySQL, etc.)