To overclock or not...

Proteos

Gawd
Okay, so I am going to admit. I'm new to overclocking.

I am a bit hesitant about doing so because I would like my new computer to last quite a while, but at the same time I want to see how far I can potentially push my system.

Can anyone convince me one way or the other? Check my sig for my system specs.

Theres really no reason not to. You can reach 3+ Ghz on stock voltage. By doing that, you aren't really lessening the life of your processor.

OC but be careful, i personally enjoy OCing more than actually playing games on my computer :)

And you definitely have a good build for OCing Rampage Formula is awesome, and the S1283 is a great cooler...

Theres really no reason not to. You can reach 3+ Ghz on stock voltage. By doing that, you aren't really lessening the life of your processor.

I know I should read the OC guide that is stickied in this forum, but essentially would I just increase the FSB and not touch the voltage?

So if I am to gather correctly from your post, the thing that reduces the life of a cpu is uping the voltage?

Overclock! , It's so fun seeing how far you can push you card just becareful and read ots of guides and if you dont want to read guides then i would suggest not doing it at all , but i did it and now i am so happy with the performance i got out of my signature rig.....just make sure if you take a swing at it without guides don't go over 1.5volts supposedly it shortens the life of chips......

Well if you plan on keeping this computer for 7 or 8 years in its current form, then pushing the max safe voltage and taking your cpu up to 3.6+ might lessen its life span. So we're not talking about a lifespan being cut to 1 or 2 years. Chances are you'd have upgraded in the next 5 years.