USB sound card or internal?

Damar

Supreme [H]ardness
As this is something I've no knowledge of I figure I'd ask the experts around here.

The onboard sound in one of the PC's here has started the whole "crackle, static, snap pop" routine. Its annoying to say the least and though I'd love to put an actual sound card in the box, I'm tempted at the moment to just grab a USB one to tide things over rather than pull the case out of where it is to get access to the motherboard.

I've got a pair of USB headphones and those work fine with no static or noise, so I figure I'm safe with a USB sound card.

I need to power a set of Corsair SP2500 2.1 speakers, I don't need any other features or fancy things really.

My other option is to just bite the bullet and buy a good quality sound card and rip the machine out and work on it over a weekend. My fear is that without being able to isolate the initial cause of the static problem that I may end up with the same issue even with an add in card. Audio is not my strong point, so I'm unsure if this is a valid concern. There's just too much conflicting info on the net from what I've read so far on the net.

So... suggestions? Money isn't an issue, I just need something to drive those speakers for gaming, music and movies and I don't mind paying for quality components.

Both can have their own issues and ultimately I'd say that neither is better than the other. Internal cards are directly susceptible from noise from the power supply and other components and even RFI. USB devices can still be affected by the PSU of your PC, can still be affected by RFI, and sometimes have their own power supply which can also generate noise and/or a ground loop.

USB devices are probably less susceptible to a low-quality or otherwise noisy PSU in your PC, but not problem-free.