Why linux is not a desktop OS.

Flagg

Limp Gawd
Okay, i dont really mean that but i did get your attention!

I have been using linux on and off for over 4 or 5 years. Im not the worst at it, but then again I am not the best. I have seriously been thinking about switching to linux as my main os. The reason I havent? Well let me list em

CD Burning
DVD Burning / Copying of DVD's(like DVDShrink)
WMV/ASF Movie Playing
Adobe Acrobat reading
Mutli-Monitor support
Games (to name a few) Halflife 2 / Doom 3 when they are released
XBOX Application support (i use excuter :) )
Newsgroups (i love agent)

Those are my main ones. I was hoping that some of you could give suggestions of software that I could use to accomplish the tasks listed above. One of the biggest problems a new user experiences in learning a new OS (especially when its there main one) is what software can I use to do what i was just doing in windows XP? Any suggestions would be great

check the Post your Linux Programs thread. many of the things you have listed are in there. as far as gaiming goes, linux is not the best choice, imo. first of all, not many major games are made for it. and in many cases the linux versions of games are released long after the windows version is out. i remember waiting forever for the neverwinter nights port :(

There is supposed to be a version of Doom3 for linux included on one of the cds. There is an Acrobat reader included with most distros. I'm not sure about Multi Monitor support, I'll setup two monitors tonight and see what happens.

CD Burning
Can do. Under GNOME Nautilus has a built in burner.

DVD Burning / Copying of DVD's(like DVDShrink)
I know there is some but dont own a DVD burner so dont have the prog

WMV/ASF Movie Playing
try mplayer

Adobe Acrobat reading
try Adobe Arcobat reader (linux native) for true rendering or gpdf very fst at rendering

Mutli-Monitor support
doing right now. Just a bit of config with the Xconf file - using nVidia card