With six strikes on the horizon, I'd like to make my network more secure. Need help!

ekuest

Supreme [H]ardness
I've been building computers for many years, but never played with networking and security before. I am aware of proxies and VPNs but never used them before. I would like to avoid a paid subscription service like a VPN because I don't like monthly fees and I'm not entirely sure I want to send all my information through a third party. I am fine with spending money on hardware, such as a small router build, but just don't like monthly fees.

So my question is, what is the best way to effectively hide my internet activity from my ISP and other spying eyes? Proxy? VPN? Both? And what is the best way to implement this for myself? Any links to walkthroughs or in-depth articles on how to set up your own system would be appreciated. Thanks!

~ekuest

Any method sufficiently advanced to avoid detection by your ISP ( aka; your next hop ) is going to add latency and will involved filtering your traffic through a third party ( mostly correct. as correct as I'm going to be in this thread anyway )*.

Well, almost any method. The safest method is to stop downloading stuff you shouldn't be downloading.

* - Additionally, there is nothing saying that that third party won't give up their logs if pressed.

VPN by far, but it will drag your connection down and at the very least add lag to even a top plan. There is no getting around it. For decent anonymity you're going to have to shell out the dough because you're no longer just using your own bandwidth, but that of the VPN server (whomever it may be) which is the reason why it costs money to begin with.