Resurrected dead motherboard (bad caps)

defuseme2k

[H]ard|Gawd
OK -- I've been through this a couple of times in various situations. I'm no eletrical engineer and in fact can take no credit here. Another active hardforum member and good friend of mine GoodBoy helped, or in reality, did almost all the work. I've searched the forums and around on the internet and apparently this just isn't that common of a practice outside of knowledgable electricians. There is SOME information out there though. Why I don't know, this has really proved to be worthwhile for me.

I had a dead system (obviously not my gigabyte ultra durable board :D). Not THAT fancy, but it was not something I wanted to throw away, plus I wanted to boot back into the OS to get data and look around to make sure I didn't miss anything. When I pushed the power button, the fans would spin for a second, a red LED lights up on the board, the fans stop and nothing more happens. After some closer inspection I notice 7 capacitors are bubbled up and some of them also had leaked. I had to stop and wonder if most people (most people... yeah what I mean is [H] people) at this point decide it is dead for good and take their losses? Anyway, after finding no noticeable burn marks or anything like that, I called GoodBoy up since we've done this before with success. You have to be extremely careful, but generally if you use the same type with the same or slightly higher voltage/capacitence it is OK just as long as the temperature ratings and such are at least on par with the original capacitor. Do your research first! What would have cost me hundreds of dollars to fix (it made no sense to find used parts or go super low end on new stuff), this was done for an hour or two worth of time and the parts (20-30 dollars worth). I guess cost also assumes you have time, a soldering iron, and all of the necessary tools (wick, etc).