Ultralight for Solidworks/CAD?

I'm looking to get an ultralight laptop for buisness and pleasure. I'm an engineer so I would need something capable of running solidworks, photoshop, matlab, etc. I don't need something really powerful, but there are times when I would need to be able to open and work with medium complexity solidworks models. Ive looked into the HP envy, which would be pretty ideal but its way too expensive. anycheaper options out there?

From the benchmarks ive found online it doesn't look like the radeon 6470m isn't much better than the Intel HD 3000 in cad applications. Plus, its not a very pretty laptop. I know I shouldn't care, but thee is something to be said for how sexy some of these ultralights are. I was thinking of getting a Lenovo x120 but it only as the hd30000, which I have a feeling wont cut it in solidworks.

Whatever you decide upon, I HIGHLY suggest getting a machine with a professional grade GPU (Firepro or Quadro) if the software you're using calls for it.

I've used consumer level cards in 3D modeling workstations before and they always seem to cause artifacts and instability issues in my experience. This is with Autodesk (3DsMax) and Siemens (NX) software. The worst part is, their customer support isn't usually willing to help too much if you're running hardware that they don't officially support.

Whatever you decide upon, I HIGHLY suggest getting a machine with a professional grade GPU (Firepro or Quadro) if the software you're using calls for it.

I've used consumer level cards in 3D modeling workstations before and they always seem to cause artifacts and instability issues in my experience. This is with Autodesk (3DsMax) and Siemens (NX) software. The worst part is, their customer support isn't usually willing to help too much if you're running hardware that they don't officially support.

+1 to this.

Not sure if you are going to find any ultralights that have professional GPUs in them.

Last edited: