Project: XeQtion - Votey's X-QPack Mod

Votey

Limp Gawd
Hi everyone, I'm Votey.

I'm pretty new to this whole "modding" scene, but I decided to just dive right in and start a worklog. It's still a work in progress, so I'll be updating this thread with new pics and info periodically. I want to apologize now for my atrocious digital photography skills.

This project started the minute I saw my friend's new X-QPack. I wanted one, too, but there was no way I was giving up my DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D.

Then it hit me...

The inside dimensions of this case are about 13" x 10.5".
The DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D is about 12" x 9.5".
It's perfect!

The pictures speak for themselves, and that's what you came to see, so here you go.

Mod_001.JPG

The box was pretty beat up when it arrived, so I wanted to document the damage before I opened it up.

Mod_002.JPG

Mod_003.JPG

Everything was packed very well.

Mod_004.JPG

Aspire did a great job ensuring that the case arrived in pristine condition.

Mod_005.JPG

Mod_006.JPG

Case, accessories, and power supply (never to be used, poor little bugger).

Mod_007.JPG

The victim on the workbench, MB tray, HD rack and front face removed.

Mod_008.JPG

A view from the back.

Mod_009.JPG

Took out the rear exhaust fan, and made the first CUT!
Removed some aluminum so my PSU's 120mm fan can breathe easier.

Mod_010.JPG

Shaved the edge off the MB tray, and added three more PCI brackets, taken from an old Dell.

Mod_011.JPG

Drilled 5 holes to mount the tray back into the case.

Mod_012.JPG

Test fitting the new tray in the case. <begin Ace Ventura voice> LLLike a glove! </voice>

Mod_013.JPG

Mod_014.JPG

Ready to cut the outside shell. (This is the big one. Mess this up, and it's all over, pal!) In red, the proposed new piece I'll have to make (and paint).

Mod_015.JPG

To be continued...